Texas College Students
Texas College Students
Texas College Students

Athletics

NAIA Champions of Character
CSFL Central States Football League
Red River Athletic Conference

Play Naia

Champions of Character Five Star Institution


The Department of Athletics fully embraces the College’s mission and enacts poilices, procedures, and initiatives with both the letter and spirit of that purpose. The administration and staff of the Department of Athletics espouse a student-centered philosophy which ranks academic achievement as the number one priority for its athletes. Toward this end, the Athletic Department is committed to providing a comprehensive intercollegiate athletics program for men and women who promote the academic, physical, social, psychological, and total development of the student-athlete.

Furthermore, the Athletic Department is committed to working collaboratively with other constituents of the college to ensure the production of competent, contributing graduates who are of the College to ensure the production of competent, contributing graduates who are capable of making the transition from college life to the workplace and into today’s multi-cultural society. Furthermore, the Athletic Department is committed to providing public service activities to the community and research opportunities for its coaching staff.

Embodied within this mission statement is the concept of an effective athletics program which values the success of its student-athletes in competition, academic, and personal development, and maintenance of full compliance with the rules of the college, the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA), Central States Football League (CSFL), and the Red River Conference (RRAC).

Elissia Burwell, Athletic Director
Phone: (903) 593-8311 ext: 2307
E-mail:eburwell@texascollege.edu

Angela Lawson, Athletic Coordinator
Phone: (903) 593-8311 ext: 2209
E-mail:alawson@texascollege.edu

MEN'S
BASKETBALL
Marquet Norfleet Head Coach (903) 593-8311 ext.2346 mnorfleet@texascollege.edu
WOMEN'S
BASKETBALL
Elissia Burwell Head Coach (903) 593-8311 ext. 2307 eburwell@texascollege.edu
WOMEN'S
VOLLEYBALL
Isaac Williams Head Coach (903) 593-8311 ext.2304 iwilliams@texascollege.edu
BASEBALL
Tim Ryan Head Coach (903) 593-8311 ext.2301 tryan@texascollege.edu
SOFTBALL
Angela Lawson Head Coach (903) 593-8311 ext. 2230 alawson@texascollege.edu
SOCCER
Marco Mthembu Head Coach (903) 593-8311 ext. 2326 mmthembu@texascollege.edu
TRACK & FIELD
Isaac Williams Head Coach (903) 593-8311 ext. 2304 iwilliams@texascollege.edu
FOOTBALL
George Cumby Head Coach (903) 593-8311 ext. 2355 gcumby@texascollege.edu
TRAINER
Shannon Hinsley Head Trainer (903) 593-8311 ext. 2227 shinsley@texascollege.edu

Texas College is a NAIA Division I Member as well as a member of the Red River South Athletic Conference.

Athletic & Student Insurance & Accident/Injury Forms

© Texas College
2404 Grand Avenue
Tyler, TX 75702
800-306-6299
Notice of Non-Discrimination: Texas College does not discriminate in any employment practice, education program, or educational activity on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, disability, or veteran status. The Vice President of Academic Affairs has been designated to handle student inquiries regarding non-discrimination policies and the Director of Human Resources has the responsibility for faculty-staff concerns in this regard. Contact information is: Texas College, Attn: Vice President of Academic Affairs/Compliance Officer, Office of Academic Affairs/Martin Hall 1st floor, 2404 North Grand Avenue, Tyler, Texas 75702, (903) 593-8311 ext. 2342 office, (903) 526-4426 fax or Texas College, Attn: Director of Human Resources, Martin Hall, 1st floor, 2404 North Grand Avenue, Tyler, Texas 75702, (903) 593-8311 ext. 2201 office, (903) 363-1828 fax.